Herbs & botanicals
Butterbur
Extract from the butterbur plant, used in Europe for centuries – studies are small. Buy only “PA-free” – the raw plant can harm the liver.
3 products from US online stores, sorted by what 50 mg of butterbur extract costs – not by the price per pack.
5.6¢Lowest cost
per 50 mg butterbur extract
- Prices checked Nov 1, 2026, US
- No paid placements

What does 50 mg mean?
- butterbur extract per serving in the 3 products we checked
- 50–75 mgbutterbur extract per serving in the 3 products we checked
- 50 mg is a fixed amount to compare by.
- There’s no official daily amount for butterbur extract.
We compare by 50 mg only so products line up – it’s not a recommendation. Not medical advice.
Where products miss quality points
How the 3 products score
- Very good 90+: 0
- Good 75+: 3
- Fair 60+: 0
- Low under 60: 0
- have no seal from an independent testing program
- 3 of 3have no seal from an independent testing program10 of 30 testing points for GMP, 15 for the 1 whose label says “third-party tested”
The full 30 testing points need an independent test. Every supplement sold in the US is made under the FDA’s GMP rules – the maker checks its own products, which gives 10 points. A seal from a testing program like NSF, USP or Informed Choice means a lab outside the company checks that what’s inside matches the label. Most brands don’t take part. That doesn’t make a product bad – without a seal, a clean product still gets up to 80.
We find seals on the label and in NSF’s public lists. USP and Informed Choice don’t let us search their lists automatically, so a seal that’s only in their lists can be missing. How the score works
3 products · cheapest per 50 mg butterbur extract first
- Rank 1
Nutricost
Butterbur Extract, 75 mg
Extract · Capsules
80Good qualityMade in USA5.6¢per 50 mg
Lowest
- Pack
- $10.00120 capsules
- Butterbur extract per serving
- 75 mgin 1 capsule
- Pack lasts
- 120 daysif you take 1 capsule (75 mg) a day
vitacost.com (opens in a new tab)Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Label
- Rank 2
Nutricost
Butterbur Extract Capsules
Extract · Capsules
75Good qualityCountry not stated6.7¢per 50 mg
20% more
- Pack
- $11.97120 capsules
- Butterbur extract per serving
- 75 mgin 1 capsule
- Pack lasts
- 120 daysif you take 1 capsule (75 mg) a day
nutricost.com (opens in a new tab)Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Label
- Rank 3
Solaray
Vital Extracts, Butterbur, 50 mg
Extract · Capsules
75Good qualityCountry not stated$0.45per 50 mg
719% more
- Pack
- $27.2960 capsules
- Butterbur extract per serving
- 50 mgin 1 capsule
- Pack lasts
- 60 daysif you take 1 capsule (50 mg) a day
vitacost.com (opens in a new tab)Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Label
Good to know
- Fact
- 719%more per 50 mg for the most expensive product than for the cheapest.
How we checked: one-time price for each size in the store’s US online shop, before sales tax and shipping, without subscriptions or coupons. Prices change often, so check the store before you buy. More on how we check
The amount we compare by only makes products comparable – it is not a dosage recommendation. Not medical advice.
How we calculate
Cost per dose = price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × comparison amount. Example: $119.99 for 74 servings with 24 g of protein each is 1,776 g of protein. $119.99 ÷ 1,776 g × 30 g = $2.03 per 30 g of protein.
Found a mistake or a product we should add? Email us












































